Formed in 2010, the Jamaica Choral Scholars is an auditioned mixed ensemble dedicated to the creation, study, and performance of Jamaican choral music. Founded and directed by Andrew Marshall, the group has each year performed existing choral music by Jamaican composers such as Samuel Felsted's Jonah, Lisa Narcisse's First Jamaican Mento Mass, and Narcisse's Second Jamaican Mento Mass. The ensemble has also performed existing and commissioned works from other Jamaican composers, including Deneil Clarke, Dale Honeyghan, Santorini degli Archangeli, Garnet Mowatt, Mikhail Johnson, and Earlon Cornwall.

The group also serves as one of Andrew's creative outlets in writing Jamaican choral music for the group's performance. Among the extended works in this vein are Zion Suite (2014), Jiizas a-go Baan (2017), Jiizas Pashan (2018), Di Apasl Paal: Wen Im Tun Wan Biliiva (2020), and Di Apasl Paal: Paal Get Stuon iina Lischra (2021). The ensemble has continued to perform virtually as part of the Jamaica Choral Scholars Festival recently in the wake of the pandemic.

Video Performances

Coming in December 2021:

Virtual premiere of Andrew's Di Apasl Paal: Paal Get Stuon iina Lischra, the second of three installments in
Di Apasl Paal series, with the Jamaica Choral Scholars,
featuring Karim Chang as the storyteller.

jcsf 2021 flyer.jpg